Home | Articles | Submissions

ISSN 2469-4681
Screen Shot 2015-10-29 at 2.14.57 PM

TOPICS is a publication of The MayDay Group for Music Education

Editor: Janice Waldron
Associate Editor: Matt Koperniak
Production Team: Matt Koperniak, Darrin Thornton


TOPICS is intended to fill the gap between music education scholarship and practice.  In particular, it focuses on the “practice” (practical, praxial, pragmatic) side of the “theory into practice” and “practice into theory” problematic by publishing papers, articles, documents, and other texts that that make a contribution to praxis and praxial theory.  Thus, the focus of such scholarly articles will be on issues of relevance to music education praxis internationally, and the intended audience will be music education students, school music, community and private music teachers, and professors largely engaged with preparing undergraduate and master’s level music education students.  These articles will also be of interest to doctoral students, who may also author them as part of their important bridging of the worlds of practitioners and professors. All articles will be aligned or consonant with the Action Ideals of the MDG, as published on its website, however, views expressed by TOPICS authors are their own and may or may not reflect the views of the editors.

TOPICS intends to be media rich and will gladly accommodate video, audio, and graphic features.

TOPICS Editorial Board

Nicole Becker – Teachers College, Columbia U., New York, US
Thomas De Baets – LUCA School of Arts, Brussels, Belgium
Adam Patrick Bell – University of Calgary, Calgary, AB, CA
Eva Egolf – Public Schools, New Rochelle, NY, US
Hildegard Froehlich – U. of North Texas, Denton, TX, US
Lucy Green – Institute of Education, U. of London, London, UK
Juliet Hess – Michigan State University, Lansing, MI, US
Ailbhe Kenny – Mary Immaculate Coll., U. of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Matt Koperniak – Johns Creek High School, Atlanta, GA, US
Ed McClellan – Loyola U. of New Orleans, New Orleans, LA, US
Josh Palkki – Michigan State U., East Lansing, MI, US
Lauren Kapalka Recherme – Indiana U., Bloomington, IN, US
Daniel Shevock – Pennsylvania State U., Univ. Park, PA, US
Kari Veblen – U. of Western Ontario, London, ON, CA
Juergen Vogt – U. of Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Janice Waldron – U. of Windsor, Windsor, ON, CA
Daniel Walzer, University of Massachusetts-Lowell, MA, US